Long overdue Dead Bird Quiz

5 07 2016

Time has slipped by so fast for me recently. And while I was on vacation last week, I was thinking about how long it has been since I have posted to the SEANET Blog.  So, my first thought is that we are well overdue for another Dead Bird Quiz (DBQ).  So, here goes:

The first bird (Bird A) was found on May 10, 2016 on a Massachusetts beach.  Additional details are as follows:

Wing chord 45.0 mm
Tarsus 81.0 mm

WB_13a  5-10-16(2)

Bird A: found on Massachusetts beach in May 2016.

The second bird  (Bird B) was found on May 5, 2016 on a South Carolina beach.  Additional details are as follows:

Wind chord 43.0 mm
Culmen 55.0 mm
Tarsus 69.0 mm
unknown2
Bird B: Found on a South Carolina Beach in May 2016
Actions

Information

2 responses

8 07 2016
Wouter van Gestel

Thank you for posting a new DBQ, I Always love to take part in those.

I think both these birds are American herring gulls (Larus a. smithsonianus), with bird A being a juvenile and bird B a subadult.

Wouter

8 07 2016
sjcourchesne

I agree with Wouter. Hey, have you guys seen this? This post reminded me of it–the trauma of gull i.d….http://blog.aba.org/2016/06/the-most-evil-photo-quiz-ever.html

Leave a Reply

