Blogger says farewell

28 01 2016

When I started this blog in 2008, I would never have imagined it would have the kind of longevity or enthusiastic readership that it has. I thought it would be an outlet for occasional news and information and might not last all that long. Instead, it became my connection to many of you Seanetters, to collaborators, to students of dead bird identification on either side of the Atlantic.

Photo on 1-28-16 at 2.18 PM

Farewell from my accustomed blogging spot, alone in the dining room.

Because it has come to mean so much to me, it’s been difficult to come to my present decision. Since 2014, I have been a full time professor at my local community college. Because SEANET doesn’t count as one of my responsibilities in that role, I have to pursue any SEANET activities outside of my obligations to the college. This, as you might imagine, leaves very few hours in the week. Keeping the blog while also responding to your emails, and trying (trying) to analyze some of our data from time to time, has proven untenable. Since I do not want to stop corresponding with volunteers, or dredging up data for people who request it for their research, I concluded that the blog must be what I let slip overboard to lighten this little craft.

I want to say thank you to all of you, everywhere, who have read the blog, written comments, played the Dead Bird Quiz game, and otherwise made my solitary work a little less solitary. I feel what seems a disproportionate sadness over this; this blog has combined three of my great loves–writing, science, and education.

If I may flatter myself that some of you would follow my writing outside the proscribed bounds of seabird science, I do keep an intermittent naturalist’s/outdoor/ecology blog that you are welcome to stop into from time to time.

Thank you, thank you, thank you for over seven years of your company, your time, and your interest. I won’t ever forget it. -Sarah

Actions

Information

12 responses

29 01 2016
Marcia Lyons

And thanks to you for all the information you have shared over the years. DBQ was fun. It will be missed but understand the decision.

2 02 2016
scourc01

Thank you so much!

29 01 2016
Tonya

Really going to miss reading this, but I totally understand your decision. I admire you letting go of what is good to go after what is best. Wonderful wishes to you in all your endeavors!

2 02 2016
scourc01

Thank you so much Tonya! I really appreciate the understanding and good wishes; it means so much!

29 01 2016
Jenette Kerr

Oh, Sarah, life without Dead Bird Quizzes… my favorite part was how you set them up and then revealed the answers!! I know how much work goes into the blog and I can’t imagine how you kept it going with everything else you do. Thanks so much for an exceptionally well done one and always for your wonderfully good humor! I look forward to following your personal blog. Jenette

2 02 2016
scourc01

Thank you! I will miss the DBQ the most, I think. I really feel like I carved out a strange, but perfect niche for myself there…

29 01 2016
Wouter van Gestel

I’ll miss your blog Sarah, I always enjoyed it very much. Thanks a lot, and maybe we’ll see you back in the future if you get less busy.

Wouter van Gestel

2 02 2016
scourc01

I am hoping I can make time for it again at some point. It’s been a hard decision, giving it up!

31 01 2016
Joe Poland

THANK YOU SARAH for your most interesting blog which you have faithfully produced over many years!!!!! Also, THANK YOU for our multiple email exchanges about Ospreys nesting in man made structures at Ocean Beach Park, New London, CT. Best wishes for the future as a professor at the community college!!!! I know you will be an outstanding educator and researcher for the college!!!! Joe Poland

2 02 2016
scourc01

Thank you SO much for reading, for your notes, and for your constant dedication to our project Joe!

3 02 2016
Dennis Minsky

Thank you Sarah for all that you have done for all of us. Dennis

8 02 2016
scourc01

Thank you, Dennis. You guys are the reason I cling to this project against heavy odds.

Leave a Reply

