Dead Bird Quiz: ultrasuper closeup edition

3 04 2015

I’ve gotten some very nice macro shots of dead birds lately, showing some nice detail of parts of carcasses. I decided to include some among a few of the more standard sorts of DBQ fodder. Here they are, friends!

Bird A, found by Jerry Golub in Florida last month.

Bird A, found by Jerry Golub in Florida last month.

Bird B, found by Sue Bickford in Maine this month.

Bird B, found by Sue Bickford in Maine this month.


Bird C: Found by Wendy Stanton in North Carolina last month.

Bird C: Found by Wnedy Stanton in North Carolina last month.

Actions

Information

5 responses

3 04 2015
Edward

Bird A: Common Loon/Great Northern Diver
Bird B: Merganser??
Bird C: American Wigeon adult male

3 04 2015
Wouter van Gestel

Ah, Edward just beat me to it! However, I’ll try as well:
Bird A: Common Loon (distinctive beak)
Bird B: White-winged Scoter (dark reddish legs. Surf scoter has those as well, but I think I see some whitish feathers)
Bird C: Red-breasted Merganser, male (wigeon was my first thought as well, but that species has no white secondaries at the underside of the wing)

Wouter

3 04 2015
Edward

Bird A: we agree.
Bird B: You might be right, but I’m not convinced. The fact that it is dark red doesn’t say much imho. It may be a bit dried out and having become darker than it was. I wouldn’t put my head on this one. It is just guessing if you ask me.
Bird C: I’m not sure the white feathers are secondaries. To me they look like underwing coverts, with darker grey secondaries in the background. The dark wrist patch somewhat separated from the dark trailing edge is more Wigeon than RB Merganser I think. The big white patch on the upper wing plus dark grey primaries reminds me also of an Am. Wigeon.

3 04 2015
capteagleeyes

Bird A= Common Loon, Bird B= White-winged Scoter, Bird C= RBME

9 04 2015
John Stanton

I am slow to respond on this DBQ, but wish to place my vote for Bird B as an American Black Duck.

Leave a Reply

