Return from Appledore, and other news

9 06 2014

Thank you for your forbearance over the past few weeks as my blog posts have grown few and far between. I have come back from gull banding now, and the week’s weather out there turned gorgeous in the latter half, so we were working through most of the daylight and often doing data entry well past. If you are not already a reader of the Gulls of Appledore blog, please take a look for more on what we were up to, and about the larger gull ecology study of which we were but a small part.

Now, I am back on the mainland, clean, and with supplies reorganized. I was also caught up in a flurry of job interviews which concluded in an offer made and accepted. Come fall, I will be teaching full time at Northern Essex Community College in Massachusetts!

Never fear though, Seanetters; it is my intention to continue on with this program that I love so much, and with all of you volunteers whom I hold so dear. It’s only a matter of finding some more funding to keep us going. Should you know of any grants or other potential funding sources, let me know; I will be turning at least part of my attention to ferreting out such monies. For now, I leave you with these two mementoes of my week in the field with some excellent students who worked hard, maintained good humor, and were surprised at how much they’d learned by the end. I can’t ask for better than that. First, our formal portrait. And second, this can’t miss video of why we enter the colonies either helmeted or bearing big sticks to divert attention from our vulnerable skulls: Sean vs. Herring Gull

Gull team, May 2014: From left: Bill Clark, Sean Jeffery, Sarah Courchesne (me!), Sarah Chieng, Carly Emes, Kristen W (whom we poached from another research project, which is why I only know her last initial.)

Gull team, May 2014: From left: Bill Clark, Sean Jeffery, Sarah Courchesne (me!), Sarah Chieng, Carly Emes, Kristen W (whom we poached from another research project, which is why I only know her last initial.)

 

Actions

Information

4 responses

11 06 2014
Mary Wright

Congratulations on your new job, Sarah!

12 06 2014
sjcourchesne

Thanks so much!

11 06 2014
Biologist on the Edge

I tried to watch the video but, well, YouTube has pulled it because you have violated the community standards (YouTube has standards? WHAT have you been posting?). too bad. I was looking forward to some good gull violence since my Bestie won’t be working with me come fall and I’m not sure how I’m going to deal with all the nutters on my own :(.

Congratulations on the job, though. I’m really happy for you.

12 06 2014
sjcourchesne

What?! It must be a wordpress issue. Does this link work for you? I can see it…https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eyjw5rtpArk

Leave a Reply

