Dead Bird Quiz

21 11 2013

Apologies for the slowed pace of my posts of late. I’m closing in on the end of my teaching semester, and after that, you can look forward to several weeks of restored vigor here on the SEANET blog. For now, here’s a Dead Bird Quiz, just to keep your minds sharp:

Bird A: found by Lynda Zegers in South Carolina this month.

Bird A: found by Lynda Zegers in South Carolina this month.

Bird B: Found by Jerry Golub in New Jersey last  month.

Bird B: Found by Jerry Golub in New Jersey last month.

Actions

Information

2 responses

21 11 2013
Wouter van Gestel

Great, a new dead bird quiz! Let’s try
Bird A looks like a Royal Tern to me (Sterna maxima), I would have loved to find that one myself!
Bird B is a cormorant, probably a juvenile becasue I see some light coloured feathers. If it is found in New Yersey there are two possibilities: great or double-crested. Great cormorants of the US subspecies tend to be very large, and judging from the pen next to the bill, this one is not that large. Therefore I go for double-crested (Phalacrocorax auritus), but I cannot rule out a female great cormorant (P. carbo)

21 11 2013
capteagleeyes

Bird A = Royal Tern Bird B= Great Cormorant

Leave a Reply

