Dead Bird Quiz: Lori Benson edition!

13 03 2013

I’m probably embarrassing poor Lori, but who wouldn’t want to be publicly associated with dead birds and their quizzes?

Bird A, found by Lori Benson in Massachusetts this month.

Bird A, found by Lori Benson in Massachusetts this month.

Lori is a Seanetter along Buzzard’s Bay in Massachusetts, and she has had a couple interesting finds this past few weeks. The first, Bird A, is twisted around, mangled, footless and inside out. Wing chord, the only measurable parameter here, was somewhere in the neighborhood of 15cm. So this is a small bird. It’s difficult to orient oneself, but as far as I can tell, the footless, skeletal legs are off to the left, and the neck (with skin inside out) is coming up off the body in the center of the picture. Feature of note: that clean white underwing catches my eye. This one is a real challenge, and I don’t really have a good answer yet, so fling your wildest guesses this way. I suspect there’s a species or two I’m not considering that this one must be. I do have some suspicions, based on the structure of what I take to be the legs, but this is a doozy!

Bird B is one that Lori found while on a run by the beach rather than on a SEANET walk, but I like to try to hone my very rusty non-seabird identifying skills, and this is a nice, intact bird to try it on.

Bird B: underside (photo by L. Benson)

Bird B: underside (photo by L. Benson)

Bird B, upper side. (photo by L. Benson)

Bird B, upper side. (photo by L. Benson)

Actions

Information

3 responses

13 03 2013
Mary Wright

Bird A: an alcid . . . Common Murre is my guess.
Bird B: Cooper’s Hawk.

13 03 2013
Mary Wright

Aaaaagh, where’s my head? Bird B is a Red-shouldered Hawk!

15 03 2013
capteagleeyes

Bird A= Razorbill, Bird B=Coopers Hawk

Leave a Reply

